We use cookies to improve your experience on our website and ensure the information we provide is more relevant. If you continue without changing your cookie settings, we will assume you are happy to accept all cookies on the Army website. You can change your cookie settings at any time.


The Royal Welsh

The Royal Welsh are Wales’ Infantry Regiment, consisting of one regular and one reserve battalion.

The Royal Welsh exists to represent the people of Wales, serve the United Kingdom and to enforce its interests at home and overseas. Every Royal Welshman will uphold high levels of professionalism, display self-discipline at all times, show courage when tested and display lifelong loyalty to his brother Soldiers and Officers.

Those who serve in The Royal Welsh will excel at mounted and dismounted combat and draw strength from our rich history and heritage. Each man must constantly drive to perfect the ways of the modern warrior - a Welsh Warrior.

The Royal Welsh emulate the fine standards and traditions of its gallant forebears, to make it one of the finest Regiments in the British Army. Royal Welshmen are all part of one Welsh Regimental family. We pride ourselves on our close comradeship forged by demanding training and through shared hardship during periods of conflict.

The Royal Welsh consists of the following battalions:


The 1st Battalion The Royal Welsh (1 R WELSH) is based at Lucknow Barracks in Tidworth, Wiltshire.


The 3rd Battalion The Royal Welsh (3 R WELSH) is the Regiment's Army Reserve battalion.

Share this page

Bookmark and Share